Press Release: The Lucy Wilson Mysteries Crew are having The Best Christmas Ever!

Candy Jar Books is pleased to announce that a brand new collection of Christmas short stories in The Lucy Wilson Mysteries series is now up for pre-order, and will be released just in time for Christmas.

The short story collection entitled The Best Christmas Ever contains three stories by popular Lucy Wilson and Lethbridge-Stewart series author Chris Lynch.

The anthology kicks-off with the short story ‘A Little Lucy Christmas’, which was given away for free to fans of the series on Christmas day 2020. This story is followed by ‘The Grey Lady of Martyr’s House’, which was also given away for free, but on Christmas day 2021.

“We like to try and give something away for free at Christmas as a thank you to our readers for the support that they have given us throughout the year. The first two stories in the book were given away free over past Christmases, and as Chris was knees deep in a new story for this year we realised that we actually had enough Christmas adventures to bring out another festive short story collection.”

Shaun Russell, Candy Jar Head of Publishing

Shaun continues: “A Little Lucy Christmas” is about Christmas traditions and family heirlooms that many families have and don’t typically think twice about, whereas ‘The Grey Lady of Martyr’s House’ is much more of a traditional Victorian Christmas story, as protagonist Lucy and her best friend Hobo find themselves in a haunted mansion on Christmas Eve being chased by ghosts. The third and final story in the collection is called ‘The Krampus Who Came to Tea’, which is a brand new story never before seen by readers. The story is set over the Christmas of 2020 and introduces the half-goat, half-demon monster from folklore called the Krampus who, it is believed, only visits when misbehaving children need to be punished at Christmastime.”

“This is a book three years in the making and it’s nice to see Chris’ Christmas stories collected together finally.”

Shaun Russell, Candy Jar Head of Publishing
Where it all began – The Lucy Wilson Christmas Special was released in 2018!

“The yearly Lucy Wilson Christmas story has become a tradition in the Lynch house, as much a part of our festive activities as putting up the tree, wrapping the presents, or closing the curtains and pretending that we’re all out when my sister calls over.”

Chris Lynch, Writer of Best Christmas Ever

Chris has written four Lucy Wilson Christmas stories in total, with his first being ‘Past, Present and Yet to Come’ which was included in Candy Jar’s first Lucy Wilson Christmas collection back in 2019 entitled Christmas Crackers.

Chris continues: “Don’t ask me why but Christmas just seems the perfect time of year for shrink rays, death beams, ghosts, monsters, and mysterious time travelling goat-men to all make their appearance. So, I hope you enjoy these very non-traditional, but still very festive, stories!”

Popular Beano artist Steve Beckett continues at the helm of the series’ artwork, providing a front cover filled with intrigue and Christmas cheer.

The Best Christmas Ever is available for order now at Candy Jar’s website. Orders received before December 15th will be delivered in time for Christmas!

Blurb for The Best Christmas Ever

Christmas is the busiest time of the year, but this never seems to be a problem for the monsters and aliens that visit Lucy Wilson over the festive period!

Alongside her best friend Hobo, Lucy discovers one of her grandad’s old secrets, investigates a creepy haunted mansion, and gets a visit from a mysterious goatman called Krampus, who takes bad children away.

This is a collection of three stories set over the Christmases of 2018, 2019 and 2020. Defending Earth doesn’t stop for anything, not even Christmas!

But which Christmas is the best one ever?

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries is a Lethbridge-Stewart spin-off adventure and featured licensed characters created for Doctor Who by Mervyn Haisman and Henry Lincoln.

Leave a Reply